Deadhouse Gates (Malazan Book of The Fallen 2) by Steven Erikson: Review

image

So its not unusual for me to be vocal whilst reading. In fact its a very common thing. Its usually in the form of things like this.

-Character gets in trouble-
Me: BLOODY* HELL!

-Something unexpected happens-
Me: Wuh! Whoa! Wow! (Not necessarily all three.)

-A particular nasty thing happens-
Me: Noooo! (Followed by yelling at the characters)

You get the Idea.

These outbursts were common and many throughout Deadhouse Gates by Steven Erikson.

In the Holy Desert Raraku, the seer Sha’ik and her followers prepare for the long prophesied uprising named the Whirlwind. Enslaved in the Otataral mines, Felisin, youngest scion of the disgraced House of Paran, dreams of freedom and vows revenge, while the outlawed Bridgeburners Fiddler and Islam conspire to rid the world of Empress Laseen (although it seems the gods would, as always, have it otherwise.) And as two ancient warriors -bearers of a devastating secret- enter this blighted land, so an untried commander of the Malaz 7th Army leads his war-weary troops in a last , valiant running battle to save the lives of thirty thousand refugees.

So many revelations, twists, turns and moments of pure wow! I laughed, I cried, and was left feeling the affects of some of the books most fantastically crafted scenes, and events. Not to mention an absolutely jaw dropping ending.

When I read GoTM, Kalam the assassin was more of a prominent character than Fiddler, whom I acknowledged in GoTM but didn’t really notice much. This changed for me in Deadhouse Gates. Fiddler, the sapper Bridgeburner who has a broken fiddle on his back and shoots deadly munitions from his crossbow, has become my favorite character.
He is the everyday you can get behind, and becomes your counterpart in a wonderful but dangerous world.

Of the new characters that feature there is, Heboric the historian and ex priest of Fener, Baudin the thug, Fist Coltaine, Duiker the historian, and Icarium the Jhagut and Mappo Runt the Trell.
There are many more characters and all are listed in the book.

Erikson, once more, weaves a fantastic plot of stories interwoven surrounded by fates insurmountable. Raraku is full of many dangers if the lack of food and water dont get you, then the shapeshifting Soletaken, and D’ivers will, whose presence can be detected by a strong, spicy smell.
On the subject of which, whilst reading this I went to kitchen to fetch a snack, and upon opening the fridge I caught the smell of something spicy and Immediately thought, “D’ivers!”

The pacing of Deadhouse Gates is a lot smoother than GoTM, and DG is incredibly well written, as Erikson unveils each scene, the reader finds themselves totally immersing themselves into the world.

I dont want to spoil anything for anyone so Im going to leave it there.

Needless to say, I am so enthralled with this series so far and am now reading the third installment.

Deadhouse Gates is out now, and available from Bantam Books http://www.transworldbooks.co.uk

15 thoughts on “Deadhouse Gates (Malazan Book of The Fallen 2) by Steven Erikson: Review

    • Making the time is very much worth doing. This series is just wow! And Memories of Ice promises to be one hell of a book which after reading DG Im desperate to see what it has in store.

    • My work here is done! *Disappears into a Warren*

      Seriously though, I really wanted to talk about so many points of this book as there is so much to focus on, but at the same time I dont want to spoil it and I could talk about it forever. I think you would enjoy book two definitely. πŸ™‚

  1. I bought this as both audiobook and ebook the moment I finished GotM, but haven’t started it yet. I think I am scared of getting sucked into such a long series, its a huge commitment. Although, very worth it from what I hear.

    • Yes, its a big commitment yet very rewarding. Its had such an effect on me, I could write a whole lot of posts about the ways. Am even considering a Malazan tattoo.

  2. I like to read reviews about series I’m not too familiar – to see if they may be something I want to check out later. Then sometimes I read a review like this, and it makes me feel like I am seriously missing out something, and need to start reading these now.

    • I know exactly what you mean. I seriously cannot get enough of this series. You have no Idea how much I wanted to blurt out so much in my review. THIS HAPPENED, AND OH MY GOD! Etc. I’m obsessed with it. And it seems to be catching. Two of my friends who have read the entire series are seriously considering a reread. One of those friends hasn’t long finished the series. πŸ™‚

      • Don’t tell me this! I already have the First Law Trilogy and Dark Tower series to read… I don’t have the time for a 10 books series too!
        Awesome to hear how much you’re enjoying them though.

      • Lol. So many series to read and so little time. Maybe audiobook them? Just be prepared for more squeeing when I have finished book three.

  3. It’s always great to know that some series is this good! Looking forward to your review for the next one as well. I added these to my TBR list (based on your review of the first one) but somehow didn’t get time to get to it…
    Though I’ll try and read them by November (as it’ll be the high fantasy month on my Gr group.)
    Glad you found a series that you enjoy so thoroughly! I’ve never come even close to anything like this after ASOIAF (still waiting for Winds Of Winter!) I guess even I’m gonna enjoy these books by Steven Erikson… can’t wait to start with them πŸ™‚

    • Really hope you enjoy them Heena. Well, I’m into the first three hundred pages of the third book and it is magnificent so far. I have to get the rest of ASOIAF. Its a silly story but basically I got to the end of Storm of Swords Part 1 and I ordered part 2 but it never came despite my efforts. So then I just started on other books and haven’t yet got round to the rest. The funny thing is though, Winds Of Winter still Isn’t out.

      • OMG! Really! You should get another one and read it… You’ll love it!
        And yea… it’s not released yet… But I guess it’ll be maybe in a year (finger’s crossed!)
        I’m planning on re-reading the entire series once I get to know the release date for Winds Of Winter! πŸ™‚ (I can re-read ASOIF again and again and again!!!!)

  4. Pingback: Book Collecting: Update #7 | MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

Leave a Reply

