The Fantasy Super Wonder Group!

Now as most of you know, I do like music a bit … Ok, a lot! i listen to a lot of genres but Im mostly (and always have) been into Metal and most of its many, many different sub-genres. Be it Death, Black, Power, Tech Death, Prog, well you get the picture. Metal aside for the moment, I do listen to listen to a lot of other things. For those of you that know me, you will know that I am a massive fan of Rush, Toto, Steely Dan, Yes, King Crimson, Camel etc. I could go on and on and on. But I will leave that for another time.

So, with me and my tangent-like mind, I thought about this- What if the some characters from many Fantasy books came together and formed a band? Ok, so some of the characters that i have chosen dont actually play any instruments but lets just say that they do and it just was never mentioned or they were practicing their instrument of choice between the pages. STAY WITH ME PEOPLE! Ahem … Ok, heres what I came up with.

Name of Character – The Marquis de Carabas

Book – Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

Instrument – Vocals 

When I was reading this book, the Marquis reminded me of a vocalist I used to play music with. very self confident and arrogant, and a bit of a dandy. This does mean that his stage wear would be rather flamboyant, and Im sure he would give the audience a good show. As far as his vocal style goes, I imagine him to sound a little like Geoff Tate from the band Queensrÿche with a little bit of Jim Morrison from The Doors.

Neverwhere_PaperbackHeadline_1185845982

Name of Character – Kvothe

Book – Kingkiller Chronicle series (The Name of The Wind, The Wise Man’s Fear.) By Pat Rothfuss

Instrument – Guitar (7 string)

But Kvothe plays a lute! I hear you cry. Yes, I know he plays a lute but in this band I thought he could play a guitar, and seven string no less. Im sure he could handle it. Yes it might seem like an obvious choice to have Kvothe in this band but personally with a musician as talented as Temerant’s own Hendrix of the lute, It would be silly not to have his string wizardry. In the Pat Rothfuss’ Kvothe is a dedicated musician and knows a wide range of songs. I decided to give him a seven string as I reckon he could handle it. As far as style goes I see Kvothe as a sort of cross between Richie Blackmore from Deep Purple and Blackmore’s night, with a little bit of virtuosity in the style of neo-classical mega shredder, Yngwie Malmsteen.

Name_of_the_Winduk

Name of Character – Vin Venture

Book – The Mistborn trilogy (The Final Empire, The Well of Ascension, The Hero of Ages.) by Brandon Sanderson

Instrument – Drums

Lets face it doing what Vin does being an Allomancer (magic through using certain types of metals when swallowed) there is something very rhythmic about the way she fights and leaps into action. So she would be a perfect drummer and with her throwing coins about the place imagine the speeds and drum fills she could do, she wouldnt even need sticks! and belonged to Kelsier’s crew she already has experience of working within a group albeit a very different type of group. I would imagine Vin playing drums in the style of say Phil Collins and his complex drum patterns from the Genesis album Selling England By the Pound, and perhaps a little Stewart Copeland from The Police with those lovely cymbal and Hi-Hat flourishes, and perhaps a touch of Neil Peart from Rush. final-empire

Name of character – Wydrin the Copper Cat of Crosshaven

Book – The Copper Promise by Jennifer Williams

Instrument – Bass

Well, there were other candidates for the bassist of this little group but my mind kept returning to the Copper Cat, the adventurer with her twin blades and one particular scene involving some rather flashy eye wear in The Copper Promise that probably makes her one of the grooviest characters ever Bass players are groovy … Im not just saying that because I am one but being a bassist is all about groove and Wydrin more than qualifies for this. Her playing style would be a cross between Doug Wimbish from Living Colour, and Martín Mendez from Opeth, a lovely mixture of funk slap style with some really rocking grooves interwoven with some lovely bass fills, as well as a lovely smoothness to her playng style and tone. posting-cover.jpg So what we have here is a band that totally defies the bounds of musical genre and would create a kind of music that would be all kinds of cosmic. Something that incoporates folk metal with lashings of prog rock, and reggae beats with a rather funky groove and soaring, gritty and yet velvet vocals. And to our next question, what does one call such a group of chart smashers? I shall leave that to you dear readers

12 thoughts on “The Fantasy Super Wonder Group!

  1. I am ready to listen to Kvothe play guitar but I doubt he is playing with seven strings. I am guessing he screws with the tuning until suddenly the guitar makes a sound none of us have heard before, leading to a whole new genre of rock music and a thousand lesser knock offs that neverless outsell him because they are not afraid to sell out a little.

    • Another good name choice. I keep coming back to something that involves cats but I get as far as cats. Glad you like the choices. There were others but I may save them for a rival act 🙂

  2. Neat idea! This isn’t something I could probably do, though because I love listening to instrumental music like video game or movie soundtrack scores, I sometimes like to “match” songs to books and their overall atmosphere and vibe.

    • And lets face it, every book has a vibe to it that has to match music in someway shape and form. i enjoyed doing this post, as it incorporates things that i get immense joy from. Im glad others have enjoyed it. I may do another one, as I already have a few ideas. Also, If you like instrumental music, I urge you to check out The Joy of Motion by Animals as Leaders. 🙂

    • Yes, been thinking about doing another in the new year perhaps this time for more SF or Horror based characters. It was just another way of bridging two things that I very much enjoy. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

